Paper Moon

Dystoia 2

My paper moon moves with me

Continuum connection

Matching my speed

With interstellar accuracy

Citrus streetlights pass

Warped wobble glow gas

Fuelled by extinctions

In the distant past

It seems to me

Distance is deceiving

Objects further away may appear larger here

There it is:

That ache

in the hole

that holds

my soul

As I see a small person

Perched on a knee

And I try to imagine

A smaller version of me

But as I scramble through my bag

Through tobacco sand

Handout promises

Plastic lunches

Ink dreams

Ripped seams

I know then

my legs couldn’t bear

The weight of a life

Other than mine

But I’ll always have my paper moon

It’s Somme solemn face

Battle battered

Crinkles and creases

Never ceases

To stay by my side

A hankerchief reminder

Silken lace white

Of a souls delight

In remembering the dream it had

Last life

How, you might ask, does one

Revel in mammals joy?

That rolling in grass feeling

Basking in the sunlight

Of tasks ignored

When the human cult

Catapults

A child’s soul

Through the rigmarole

Of a topsy turbo turvy twisted

Whirling dervish

A life of service

At the toes

Of wrong gods

The odds

are against us

And yet

The Universe pays no mind

It chuckle trickles entropic sand

Through quantum hourglass

Particles entwined

Reality collapse

Relax

Wax

Paper

Moon

Photo by Neven Krcmarek on Unsplash

Leave a Comment